

House of Representatives Meeting

Date: Friday, August 9, 2024

Location: MHA, Okemos **Time**: 10:00 a.m.

Agenda

1. Call to Order: 10:05 am Shane Spaulding

2. Member/Guest Introductions and Roll Call Shane Spaulding

See attached attendance.

3. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve: Connie Lane

Second: Helen Grim

House approved with no changes.

4. Approval 6.7.24 Minutes

Motion to approve: Amanda Ausmus

Second: Jori Paulos-Roland

House approved with no changes.

5. Treasurer's Report Jessica Cusac

Treasurer's Report was sent out prior to the House meeting by Jessica Cusac. See attached report.

6. Legislative Report

Bret Marr, MHSA

Shane Spaulding

Shane Spaulding

Bret was absent; please see attached Legislative Report.

7. AARC Delegates' Report

Chris Culter/Nick Prush

NBRC Update from Summer Forum:

- Specialty credential BOGO Promotion: 7/1 12/31. If you don't pass the first time you'll get a second chance for free. Must purchase by 12/31, but can use it later
- Scholarships: \$10,000 sent to CoArc accredited programs, distributing earlier this year due to programs staggered start dates, sent out once they receive the memorandum
- Single exam update: Met in April for job analysis process. It is important that we all invest time in filling out the survey to ensure accuracy.
- APRT Update: outcomes assessment exam new outcomes assessments early next year. Once the number of APRTs goes up then a credentialing exam can be made
- #more Rt's educators, more patient stories. Use these to promote recruit and retain
- Projects, human resource survey, safe and effective (staffing?), compact licensure, SOAR, specialty exam discount, NBRC staff can send an email 60 days prior to promote state society meetings

Summit Award:

- North Carolina won for 2024
- Michigan was 2nd place by one point
 - Nick and Chris will look into what we were missing

8. Committee Updates

• Fall Conference (October 7-8)

Amanda Ausmus

- See attached report.
- Golf Outing (August 2)

Lindsay Greenstein Connie Lane

- o \$3,000- \$4,000 profit
- o Registration down by 20 golfers
- Same date (1st Friday of August) and place for next year
- District II Conference (September 19)

Duane Croel/Jori Poulos

- Everything is all set for the conference.
- IR Committee
 - Working to develop a banner for \$353
- Management Section
 - A mid-July meeting is scheduled.
 - Working on guidelines for best practice- they will be placed on the website, with the first one being COPD.

9. Membership Sections Update

Nominations and Elections

Erica Basile-Gimpel

- Last day for nominations: Sept 14th, 2024
- o Ballot to be available by midnight on October 2nd, 2024
- Voting will close at midnight on October 31st, 2024
- All votes will be tabulated November 1st, 2024
- Results will be presented to the house on Friday, December 6th, 2024 and announced to constituents within 45 days of the election (December 16th, 2024)

10. Old Business

• MSRC Merchandise Store

Nick Prush

- It is almost done being made; we will get a 10% profit for every item that is sold
- We could get on-site engraving at a conference if we want

11. New Business

• AARC Emerging Leaders program- Chrysalis is a part of this

12. Open Forum

- Nick Prush: There is availability for students to join Nick and Chris at Congress
- Shane Spaulding: See Shane if you are interested in Leadership Bootcamp from 8/13-8/14

13. Call for Motion to Adjourn: 11:12am

Motion to approve: Amanda Ausmus

Second: Connie Lane House passed unanimously

Next Meeting: Monday, October 7 (Bavarian Inn, Frankenmuth)

Remaining 2024 meetings: Monday, October 7 (Bavarian Inn, Frankenmuth); Friday, December 6 (MHA, Okemos)

Michigan Society for Respiratory Care

Executive Team

President Shane Spaulding
 President-Elect Jon Vono
 Past-President Brian Wicker
 Secretary
 Freasurer Jessica Cusac
 AARC Delegate Nick Prush
 AARC Delegate Elect Chris Culter

Chair

Permanent Standing Committees:

a. Audit Committee Emily Zylab. Bylaws and House Rules Committee Nick Prush

c. Professional Development Committee Kelly Fiorino, Jessica Cusac

d. Industrial Relations Committee Linda Zimcosky

e. Judicial Committee
f. Legislative Committee
g. Membership Committee
h. Nominations and Elections

Vacant
Steve Hamick
Chris Culter
Erica Basile

i. Program Committees

i. Spring Conference Carissa Novak, Nick Prush
ii. Fall Conference Amanda Ausmus, Jessica Cusac

iii. Golf Outing Lindsay Greenstein

iv. District II Conference Duane Croel/Jori Poulos Poland

Chair

Chair

Non-Permanent Standing Committees:

a. Awards Committee Anne Hamilton

b. Budget Committee Kelly Fiorino, Jessica Cusac, Connie Lane

c. Digital Communications
 d. Professional Practices
 e. Public Relations
 f. Publications
 Chris Culter
 Steve Hamick
 Connie Lane
 Connie Lane

Membership Section:

j. Adult Acute Care Mandy Ausmus k. Asthma Tina Ketz I. Diagnostics Ken Harker m. Education Sarah Parker n. Home Care Bill Hart o. Management Kelly Dey p. Neonatal/Pediatric Haley Walker q. Pulmonary Rehab Jackie Evans r. Sub acute / Long-term Jennifer Osmun s. Sleep **Christine Robinson** t. Transport George Mitri

House of Representatives Rep 1. Rep. 2 Alternative

District I	Annette Strader	VACANT	
District II	Duane Croel	Jori P. Poulos-Poland	
District III	Ann Flint	Haley Walker	Debbie Grube
District IV	Andrew Rivera	VACANT	
District V	Robert Brush	Chrysalis Ashton	
District VI	Connie J. Lane	Helen Grim	
District VII	Jeffery Cain	Lindsay Greenstein	Brad Haddix
District VIII	Kathy M. Gurin	Tami Stafford	Dave Panzlau
District IX	Renee Sorovetz	VACANT	
District X	Elizabeth Santamaria	Roger Reichenbach	Richard Niemer

PACT: Chris Culter Erica Basile-Gimpel

Parliamentarian: Kathy Gurin