

House of Representatives Meeting

Friday, June 7, 2024 Date: Location: MHA, Okemos Time: 10:00 a.m.

Agenda

1.	Call to Order: 10:01am	Shane Spaulding	
2.	Member/Guest Introductions and Roll Call	Shane Spaulding	
	See attached attendance.		
3.	Approval of Agenda Motion to approve: Jessica Cusac Second: Connie Lane No discussion, House approved unanimously with no changes.	Shane Spaulding	
4.	Approval 4.11.24 Minutes Motion to approve: Sara Parker Second: Mandy Ausmus No discussion, House approved unanimously with no changes.	Shane Spaulding	
5.		Jessica Cusac Treasurer's Report was sent out prior to the House Meeting by Jessica Cusac, see additional materials. We are still waiting on about \$3k of outstanding revenue from Spring Conference.	
6.	egislative ReportBret Marr, MHSA• The bill has been introduced by Mai Song from Macomb County. Bill number 5794.• We have 15 co-sponsors.• The next steps: we need to send an AARC alert out to members. There will be a hearing in a couple of weeks.• We need to call state representatives and policy members for support- focus on House members for now.• Roger Reichenbach agreed to endorse a statement.• Nick Prush: Miriam will help on the national level for AARC.• Ann Flint: Does this affect compact license? Answer- No.		
7.	 AARC Delegates' Report Chris: There has not been a delegate meeting since our last MSRC House Meets summer forum in Utah. Nick and Chris will be attending. Nick: Please look in your email for a survey about compact licensure and sign would like to be a part of it. 		

- AARC Leadership Bootcamp (virtual) on Aug 13th and 14th this year.
 - Nick: Motion to send Shane Spaulding to AARC Leadership Bootcamp.
 - Second: Chris Culter
 - Discussion:
 - Shane: Can anyone go? Answer- typically, it is the President, President Elect, or Treasurer.
 - Vote passed unanimously by House.

8. Committee Updates

- Fall Conference (October 7-8) •
 - The schedule is filling up with speakers, we will apply for AARC CEUs in July.
 - We are going to offer a river boat tour as a social event (\$15/person). Family is welcome too. Sign up when you register for conference.
- Golf Outing (August 2)

Lindsay Greenstein Sara Parker

Amanda Ausmus

Prush

- Looking to get 14 teams, trying to get sponsors.
- District II Conference (September 19)

- 12. Open Forum
 - Management Chair: Jessica Sturgill

Duane emailed an update: the speakers are set, and the number of exhibitors is increasing.

9. Membership Sections Update

- Membership: Chris Culter
 - Chris and Nick Prush are working on the Summit Award. They will reach out to lapsed members quarterly. Nick is sending an email.
 - Chris encouraged people to sign up for auto-renew for their membership.
 - We currently have 919 active members, 121 inactive members. Our goal is to get to 25% of RTs.
- **Repository Information Committee: Jessica Sturgill**
 - We are working towards MSRC Best Practices for specific disease states.
 - Currently working on COPD and Asthma.
 - Next step is to figure out how to put it on the website.
 - Steve Hamick: I have my medical director involved. We should put together a position statement.
- Nominations and Elections: Erica Basile
 - The 2024 Elections are now open. The timeline is in the House meeting materials.
 - Erica: Motion to approve the election timeline.
 - Second: Connie Lane
 - Discussion: Nominations are open today until Sept. 14th. The President Elect, all membership sections, all even districts, and the medical director positions are up for election.
 - Shane: Are we instituting bio forms for the election?
 - Erica: Yes, it will be on the nomination form. If someone is nominated without a bio, I will reach out to them before the election for a bio.
 - Chris Culter: An election platform is available through AARC. It is \$300/election, but it will be less if more states use it. They will be able to check that people are members when they vote.
 - Vote to approve the election timeline: Passed unanimously by the House.
 - Nick Prush: Motion to use the AARC platform for elections.
 - Second: Andrew Rivera
 - Discussion:
 - Roger Reichenbach: Are we ready to move forward with this platform? Who will manage it? 0
 - Erica: Yes, I think we are ready. The Nominations and Elections Committee, Membership section, 0 and the Executive Committee will manage it.
 - Vote to approve the use of the AARC platform for elections: Passed unanimously by the House.

10. Old Business

- Second vote on Bylaws Revisions
 - Motion to approve bylaws: Chris Culter
 - Second: Jessica Cusac
 - Discussion:
 - Shane Spaulding: The update of the bylaws took out the Judicial Committee. Are we okay with that?
 - Nick Prush: There have not been any committee members for the past 5 years, so we removed it.
 - Shane: Concern about recourse for impeachment.
 - Sara Parker: Does the executive committee become the judicial committee in that case?
 - Chris Culter: Yes, we will just have to update our Policy & Procedure now.
 - Ric Neimer: Call to guestion
 - Vote to approve the MSRC Bylaws: passed unanimously by the House.
- MSRC Merchandise Store
 - The online store is almost ready. We are working on pricing. Our contact may come in person to do laser engraving, etc. at conferences. Nick will work with Connie for pricing.
- 11. New Business None



Duane Croel/Jori Poulos

Nick Prush

Nick Prush

• Next meeting is July 10th. The management Mingle at Spring Conference was well received, good feedback.

13. Call for Motion to Adjourn

- Motion to adjourn: Chris Culter
- Second: Brad Haddix
- Vote to adjourn: passed unanimously by the House at 11:23am.

Next Meeting: August 9, MI Health & Hospital Association, Okemos, 10:00 a.m.

Remaining 2024 meetings: Friday, August 9 (MHA, Okemos); Monday, October 7 (Bavarian Inn, Frankenmuth); Friday, December 6 (MHA, Okemos)

Michigan Society for Respiratory Care

Executive Team

•

- Shane Spaulding President •
 - President-Elect Jon Vono
- Past-President **Brian Wicker** •
- Secretary Kelly Fiorini •

Permanent Standing Committees:

- a. Audit Committee
- b. Bylaws and House Rules Committee
- c. Professional Development Committee
- d. Industrial Relations Committee
- e. Judicial Committee
- f. Legislative Committee
- g. Membership Committee
- h. Nominations and Elections
- i. Program Committees
 - i. Spring Conference
 - ii. Fall Conference
 - iii. Golf Outing
 - iv. District II Conference

Non-Permanent Standing Committees:

- a. Awards Committee
- b. Budget Committee
- c. Digital Communications
- d. Professional Practices
- e. Public Relations
- f. Publications

Membership Section:

- j. Adult Acute Care
- k. Asthma
- I. Diagnostics
- m. Education
- n. Home Care
- o. Management
- p. Neonatal/Pediatric
- q. Pulmonary Rehab
- r. Sub acute / Long-term
- s. Sleep
- t. Transport

House of Representatives

District I Annette Strader District II Duane Croel District III Ann Flint **District IV** Andrew Rivera District V **Robert Brush** District VI Connie J. Lane District VII Jeffery Cain District VIII Kathv M. Gurin District IX Renee Sorovetz District X Elizabeth Santamaria PACT: Chris Culter Erica Basile-Gimpel

- Treasurer •
- **AARC** Delegate
- AARC Delegate Elect
- Chair Emily Zyla Nick Prush Kelly Fiorini, Jessica Cusac Linda Zimcoski Vacant Steve Hamick **Chris Culter** Erica Basile
- Carissa Novak Amanda Ausmus Lindsay Greenstein Duane Croel/Jori Poulos Poland

Chair

Anne Hamilton

Chris Culter Steve Hamick Connie Lane Connie Lane

Chair

Rep 1.

Mandy Ausmus Tina Ketz Ken Harker Sarah Parker Bill Hart Kelly Dey Haley Walker Jackie Evans Jennifer Osmun **Christine Robinson**

George Mitri Rep. 2 VACANT Jori P. Poulos-Poland Haley Walker

Chrysalis Ashton

Lindsay Greenstein

Roger Reichenbach

VACANT

VACANT

Helen Grim

Tami Stafford

Debbie Grube

Alternative

Brad Haddix Dave Panzlau

Richard Niemer

Parliamentarian: Kathy Gurin

Jessica Cusac Nick Prush

Chris Culter